Contact us

We have 12 offices nationwide.

Our senior leadership team 

Fiona Kingsford

Fiona Kingsford

Chief Executive

027 448 8687

f.kingsford@competenz.org.nz

Nick Thomson

Nick Thomson

General Manager Industry Training

021 536 194

n.thomson@competenz.org.nz

Sandy Botterill

Sandy Botterill

General Manager Learning Design & Innovation

027 535 3298

s.botterill@competenz.org.nz

Kirsten Jones

Kirsten Jones

General Manager People & Culture

027 578 6109

k.jones@competenz.org.nz

Sean Kirk

Sean Kirk

Chief Financial Officer

021 556 848

s.kirk@competenz.org.nz

Toni Christie

Toni Christie

General Manager ATNZ

027 491 4468

t.christie@competenz.org.nz

National & regional managers

Talk to us about signing up a new learner and any enquiries on our training programmes.

Sarah Whetter

Sarah Whetter

National Operations Manager

027 544 7263

s.whetter@competenz.org.nz

Neil Lauagiagi

Neil Lauagiagi

National Manager, Apprenticeships Industry Training

N.Lauagiagi@competenz.org.nz

Kate Mooney

Kate Mooney

National Manager, Customer & Provider

027 761 0750

k.mooney@competenz.org.nz

Sue Williams

Sue Williams

Acting National Manager, Forestry

027 560 7929

S.Williams@competenz.org.nz

Adrian Lyne

Adrian Lyne

Acting Regional Apprentice Manager, Central

027 491 0871

A.Lyne@competenz.org.nz

Raoul Britow

Raoul Britow

Regional Apprentice Manager, Northern

027 449 9741

r.britow@competenz.org.nz

Amit Kumra

Amit Kumra

Regional Apprentice Manager, Waikato & Bay of Plenty

027 449 9107

a.kumra@competenz.org.nz

Steve Brooks

Steve Brooks

Regional Apprentice Manager, Southern

027 281 9828

s.brooks@competenz.org.nz

Greg Stuart

Greg Stuart

National Manager, ATNZ

027 550 1425

g.stuart@competenz.org.nz

Workforce development

Talk to us about supporting your wider workforce development needs. The Workforce Development team are experts in partnering with our customers to understand their needs and developing solutions to meet those needs.

Lyndall Clarke

Lyndall Clarke

Business Partner, Workforce Development

027 533 8017

l.clarke@competenz.org.nz

Kirk Spinks

Kirk Spinks

National Manager, Workforce Development

027 643 8829

k.spinks@competenz.org.nz

Debs Wand

Debs Wand

Business Partner, Workforce Development

021 745 584

d.wand@competenz.org.nz

Sector engagement

Talk to us about your sector. How is it changing? What are your immediate priorities for workforce development? What do we need to do to ensure we’re best supporting you?  The Sector Engagement team works with stakeholders from across our sectors to ensure Competenz is developing fit-for-purpose and relevant training solutions that support workforce development.   

Samantha McNaughton

Samantha McNaughton

National Manager, Sector Engagement

027-6461256

S.McNaughton@competenz.org.nz

Mark Preece

Mark Preece

Sector Manager

027 266 6621

m.preece@competenz.org.nz

Mathew Vandy

Mathew Vandy

Sector Manager

021 815 044

m.vandy@competenz.org.nz

Quality support

Talk to us about:

  • New assessor registrations 
  • Existing assessor scope extensions 
  • Consent to assess applications 
  • Forklift trainer registrations 
  • Forklift assessor registrations 
  • Moderation – pre and post 
  • Consistency reviews

We are responsible for ensuring our learners and the users of our unit standards are achieving consistent and quality outcomes.

Yvonne O'Callaghan

Yvonne O'Callaghan

Quality Support Manager

09 539 9809

y.o'callaghan@competenz.org.nz

Julie McIlwraith

Julie McIlwraith

National Moderation Manager

027 244 7989

j.McIlwraith@competenz.org.nz

Kristy Weir

Kristy Weir

Assessor Manager

09 539 9808

k.weir@competenz.org.nz

Jason Hemopo

Jason Hemopo

National Moderator, Forestry

027 660 5563

J.Hemopo@competenz.org.nz

Sabrina Pereira

Sabrina Pereira

Quality Support Administrator

09 539 9804

S.Pereira@competenz.org.nz

Fiona Horne

Fiona Horne

National Moderation Manager, Providers

027 211 6650

F.Horne@competenz.org.nz

Grace Taylor

Grace Taylor

Quality Support Administrator (part-time)

G.Taylor@competenz.org.nz

Dilan Peris

Dilan Peris

Quality Support Administrator

09 539 9871

D.Peris@competenz.org.nz

Careers

Talk to us if you are interested in working with our national careers team, or you are an employer looking to grow your business.

Our programmes include:

  • Maori and Pasifika career development
  • Gateway programmes
  • Work ready workshops

Competenz is like the university of the workplace and our national careers team are dedicated to connecting young Kiwis with on-the-job learning opportunities in industry. Young people are faced with huge choice and our careers team can assist with navigating a pathway as well as helping with skills needed to find employment.

Derek Tunui

Derek Tunui

National Manager, Career Development

027 578 6328

d.tunui@competenz.org.nz

Brian Lane

Brian Lane

Trades & Schools Advisor

027 243 7367

b.lane@competenz.org.nz

Iani Nemani

Iani Nemani

Trades Careers Advisor - Pasifika

027 403 4542

i.nemani@competenz.org.nz

Reg Currin

Reg Currin

Trades Careers Advisor - Maori

027 474 4665

r.currin@competenz.org.nz